University of Chicago Presents

Courtesy of the University of Chicago
06 Jul 2016

One of Chicago’s oldest and most distinguished concert series, the University of Chicago Presents’ Classic Concert Series (formerly the Chamber Music Series) was founded in 1943 with the goal of bringing to Chicago world-renowned artists for concerts and educational programs that would attract audiences from all parts of Chicago and its surrounding suburbs. Early performers in the series included Igor Stravinsky, Artur Schnabel, Isaac Stern, Arnold Schoenberg, and the Budapest Quartet, who performed, offered public master classes, and spoke about music and composition. In the 1960s, the series came under the stewardship of the Department of Music, where it still resides. Since that time, the series has hosted the Chicago debuts of such artists as singers Ian Bostridge, Cecilia Bartoli, and David Daniels, the artistic collaboration between the Emerson and St. Lawrence String quartets, violinist Hilary Hahn, and the Brentano String Quartet. Today, the Classic Concert Series presents a diversity of ensembles and composers representing the Classical period through the end of the 20th century. The series presents Chicago debut performances by outstanding ensembles and musicians from around the world and unusual programs of works not often heard in the city.

5720 S Woodlawn Ave.
Chicago, IL 60637
(773) 702-8068
Visit Us Online



Anthony Martinez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *